Skip to content

High resolution console for Debian GNU/Linux 6 (aka Squeeze)

September 22, 2011

After a bit of frustrating research and experimentation, I have found a solution that works for me. At first I tried the vga= kernel boot options but I was in “deprecated” purgatory. vga=ask refused to work.

How to get a high resolution console using Debian GNU/Linux 6.0.2 (squeeze) i386. uname -r produces 2.6.32-5-686.

  1. Add the following line to /etc/default/grub:

    GRUB_GFXPAYLOAD_LINUX="1024x768"

  2. Run update-grub.
  3. Reboot.

At first, I capitalized the “x” in 1024×768 and that did not work. You must, apparently, use a lower case “x”.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. anon permalink

    Thanks for share it, it works for me too

  2. Mackg permalink

    That did the trick! Thx man!

Leave a comment